Only four more FULL days until Valentines Day, and I have a really cute recipe for you today! Whether you want to make something for your sweetie, or just for your child’s class party, then this is perfect! Overall, cake pops are really easy to make. The only “downside” to making them is that they take A LOT of time! Make sure you make them on a day where you have 5-6 hours to spare waiting on chocolate to dry, and cake balls to harden! I would suggest making them the night before you need them, so they have time to properly set and harden! 

I had never made cake pops before, but I have read and watched a lot of cake pop tutorials. I didn’t really use a recipe for mine, I kind of just went from memory of all the articles that I have read about successfully making cake pops. But, I did find this recipe, and it is almost exactly what I did to make mine! Cake Pop Recipe!

I thought since Valentines Day was coming up, I would use a lot of reds, whites, and pinks!

img_7904
I love the pretty colors of Valentines Day! I didn’t end up using the food coloring because I decided to just keep the chocolate white!
img_7905
Cake pop sticks. I got these down the cake decorating aisle at Walmart!
img_7894
I made a Strawberry box cake to stick with the Valentines Day theme! I baked it like it says on the box BUT only add half of the oil!
img_7897
Once your cake is cooled, crumble it up into teeny tiny crumbles! Once its completely crumbled, use your hands to mix in your frosting. I used vanilla frosting, and added about half a can to the cake crumbles. You want to be able to roll the cake into firm balls. Don’t add so much frosting that your cake balls turn sticky and messy!
img_7900
I used a small cookie scoop just to make sure that the cake balls were all the same size. One box of cake makes about 45 cake balls. Once they’re all rolled out, put them on the sheet pan and stick them in the refrigerator for about 3-4 hours.
img_7933
When it’s time to take your cake balls out of the refrigerator, start melting your chocolate! I just used plain vanilla chocolate. I melted the whole bar of melting chocolate, and used up most of it! By the way, this Wilton Chocolate Melter is a LIFESAVER!
img_7931
Dip the tip of your cake pop sticks into the chocolate, and stick them into the cake pop. Once you do this to all of the cake balls, stick them back into the refrigerator for another 20 minutes. This hardens the chocolate, making sure that the sticks don’t slip out of the cake balls while dipping them into the chocolate!
img_7934
I used some pink and red sprinkles. Also, I didn’t know that it was going to make 45 cake pops, so I didn’t buy enough sticks. I just turned these balls into a prettier version of a buckeye 🙂
img_7935
Take the cake pop by the stick and dunk the ball into the melted chocolate. Let all of the excess chocolate drip off, and then add your sprinkles! If you want your cake pops to be perfectly round, then you’ll need something to stick your cake pop sticks into. I couldn’t find anything so I just sat mine on top of a Silpat mat (parchment paper would work as well) and they were still beautiful, just had a flat top!
img_7937
Then stick them back into the fridge for at least 45 minutes to harden before packaging them. I kept mine in the fridge even after packaging them because I live in humid Florida, and I wanted them to keep their hard chocolate shell.
img_7946
I also found these cute, individual baggies with ribbon at Walmart! Perfect for wrapping them up to take to a party!

 

    I really hope that you enjoyed this post, and that you decided to give this recipe a try! If you did, leave a pic of your cake pops in the comments! I am excited to try making these again, but with chocolate cake and milk chocolate! Ooooh, or some green/rainbow/gold ones for St. Pattys day! haha! Have a great week! 

~Kristyn

